Image

“What do you wish for?”, he asked.

“I wish to strike the Jackpot!”, i answered. “So that i can buy a few houses and give them as gifts to family; start a trust fund for my niece. Take my family and my friends for an all-expense-paid holiday to a resort in Ubud or Thailand! I wish to be able to take Bella and live in a country with 4 seasons ‘cos i love Spring and Winter”.

“No lah, i mean what do you wish for, for this country”, rolling his eyes at me.

“Oh, that. I wish for ‘special privileges’ for any one race/religion to stop. That in itself negates 1 Malaysia.

I wish for less bribery needed to get things done, and rather that money goes to free Medical and Dental be given to all senior citizens, because they have spent the stronger/healthier part of their lives contributing to their land and country, and also to the poor who can’t afford Medical or Dental.

I rather our tax money go to improving roads and road signs and street lights for drivers and pedestrians safety.

I rather our tax paying money go to free or cheaper, and a better education standard for the young generation, because it will help them for a better future.

I wish for all races to be allowed entry into local Universities based purely on their grades.

I wish for equal bank interest rates regardless of race/religion.

I wish for higher salaries for government workers so that they are less inclined towards corruption.

I wish people who make a big hoo-hah about change, crime and corruption, stop trying to bribe the police when presented with a traffic violation ticket.

I wish for farmers to have better assistance from the government, to make a clean and healthy environment for where our food comes from.

I wish for stricter cleanliness laws when it comes to public food places, and that their operating licenses be suspended until a proper level of cleanliness is maintained.

I wish our local newspapers and tv channels were unbiased (one of the many reasons i haven’t read much local newspaper nor watched local news channels for more than 35 years! Average maybe one a month?).

I wish there were stricter laws (higher fines and imprisonment) imposed against animal abuse”.

I wish public toilets were cleaner.

i wish sex education in ALL schools existed, so that perhaps that may help decrease the number of unwanted pregnancies.

I wish the government would give free sex education and free condoms/contraceptive pills to the poor, which may help reduce the number of children whom they cannot afford to feed or provide education for.

I wish the government would give free sex education and free condoms/contraceptive pills to refugees, which may help reduce the number of children whom they cannot afford to feed nor provide education for. I wish these refugees were allowed to work, as many of them wish to so that they can provide for their families.

I grin then say, “I’m sure if i had to think more about it, i’d be able to come up with a whole lot more wishes. But aiya, if i had just ONE wish, i’d still wish to win the Jackpot! Oops, or should i say “World Peace”….then go buy my lottery ticket?”. 🙂